Seattle Hit-and-Run Driver Leaves 77-Year-Old Woman Dead

Lewis & Laws, PLLC is backed by more than four decades of combined experience, a quality that you cannot find at all defense law firms.

  • Home
  • Blog
  • Seattle Hit-and-Run Driver Leaves 77-Year-Old Woman Dead

Get a FREE case review now.

We are available 24/7 to take your call. (206) 209-0608

Nov 25

Lewis & Laws

Seattle Hit-and-Run Driver Leaves 77-Year-Old Woman Dead

by Lewis & Laws

Seattle Hit-and-Run Driver Leaves 77-Year-Old Woman Dead

A driver who crashed into two people at NE 125th Street and 28th Avenue NE left the scene of the accident. A 77-year-old woman died from injuries received from that accident, which occurred on September 30 at 9:00 a.m. The neighborhood in Seattle where the accident occurred is a busy two-way street, with a two-way center turn lane and no pedestrian crosswalk.

According to witnesses, the vehicle which struck the man and woman—both of whom were 77 years old—was an older white sedan-type vehicle, possibly a Subaru. Both victims were taken to the nearest hospital but a week after the collision, the woman died from her injuries.

What is Hit-and-Run?

A hit-and-run accident is one in which a driver causes damage—property damage, injuries, or even death—but fails to remain on the scene, fleeing in an attempt to dodge liability for the damages. It is imperative to understand just how serious it is, in the state of Washington, to be involved in a collision, then leave the scene of the accident.

Under Washington law, Section 46.45.010 and 46.45.020, it is mandatory to stop following a collision. After you stop, you are required under the law to locate the owner of the damaged property (or notify the owner), render aid to anyone injured on the scene, and remain on the scene until all requirements of the law are fully met.

In short, if you are involved in a collision, you must:

  • Stop immediately, as close to the scene of the collision as possible.
  • Return to the scene of the collision in a manner that does not obstruct traffic any more than necessary.
  • If the collision involved a parked vehicle and you are unable to locate the owner of the vehicle, leave a note with your contact information.
  • If the other party is present, exchange information, including insurance information and contact information.
  • Render medical aid to anyone who received injuries from the collision, including calling 911 to request an ambulance.

Should you fail to follow any of the above rules, you could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the severity of the accident. If the crash resulted in the death of another human being, you could be charged with a hit-and-run Class B felony. If the collision resulted in injury to another human being, you could be charged with a hit-and-run Class C felony. If you hit a parked vehicle and subsequently leave the scene of the accident, you could be charged with a misdemeanor hit-and-run.

Washington Hit-and-Run Penalties

The penalties for a misdemeanor hit-and-run include up to 90 days in jail and a fine of $1,000. If you are convicted of hit-and-run, your insurance premiums will likely increase, and you could be disqualified from obtaining a CDL license.

A Class C hit-and-run felony is punishable by five years in prison and a $10,000 fine. A Class B hit-and-run felony is punishable by up to ten years in prison and $20,000 in fines. A hit-and-run driver could additionally face civil penalties.

Where to Turn if You Were the Driver in a Washington Hit-and-Run

If you hit a vehicle or a person, and you made a bad decision to leave the scene, you must contact an experienced Seattle criminal defense attorney as quickly as possible. It will be much better for you and your future if your Seattle criminal defense attorney can arrange to have you turn yourself in, then build a solid defense on your behalf.

Perhaps you were afraid of remaining at the scene, so left without really thinking it through, or perhaps you were truly unaware that you hit something or someone. Whatever your circumstances, you now need a solid defense to minimize the consequences of your actions.

Getting Help From Seattle Criminal Defense Attorneys at Lewis & Laws, PLLC

If you are charged with hit and run or any other vehicular crime in Seattle, contact an experienced Seattle criminal defense lawyer immediately. These charges may seriously affect your entire future. Without an experienced criminal defense lawyer on your side, you may find yourself spending time behind bars, as well as paying hefty fines.

The experienced lawyers at Lewis & Laws, PLLC have successfully defended clients in Seattle, Bellevue, and Kirkland. Contact us today at 206.209.0608 or fill out our online contact form.



GET ANSWERS
Get answers

Should I plead guilty?

Once you plead guilty to a charge, you cannot change your plea afterwards, so it always advised that you talk with a criminal defense attorney at our firm before you do this. Pleading guilty means that you are admitting your conduct is punishable by the law and you know...

Why do I need a lawyer?

A criminal charge means that you could face sanctions including jail times, fines, probation, potential loss of your driver's license and other penalties. A skilled criminal defense attorney can guide you through the court process and advocate your position in order...

December 13, 2019

South Park Home Mistakenly Targeted, Sleeping Man Killed

A 25-year-old man was recently arrested by Seattle police on suspicion that he fired multiple shots into a home in South Park. If the investigation definitively proves that the man in...

November 25, 2019

Seattle Hit-and-Run Driver Leaves 77-Year-Old Woman Dead

A driver who crashed into two people at NE 125th Street and 28th Avenue NE left the scene of the accident. Of the two people he crashed into, the 77-year-old woman later died from her...