The Facts About Concealed Carry in Washington

Lewis & Laws, PLLC is backed by more than four decades of combined experience, a quality that you cannot find at all defense law firms.

  • Home
  • Blog
  • The Facts About Concealed Carry in Washington

Get a FREE case review now.

We are available 24/7 to take your call. (206) 209-0608

Jul 16

Lewis & Laws

The Facts About Concealed Carry in Washington

by Lewis & Laws

The Facts About Concealed Carry in Washington

The Constitution gives every citizen the right to bear arms. However, in order to carry a concealed firearm in the state of Washington, you must obtain proper education and training. Not everyone is allowed to carry guns around without following specific laws and obtaining a permit to carry a concealed weapon. Therefore, before you decide to carry a concealed weapon, it is important to familiarize yourself with Washington’s laws.

Washington is a “shall issue” state. This means that it will issue a concealed weapon permit if you can pass a background check. Individuals over the age of 21 are allowed to obtain a concealed license. You must pass the background check and wait a minimum of 60 days to get a permit to carry a concealed weapon if you are not a resident. Once you obtain a concealed weapon permit in Washington, it will be valid for five years from the date of issuance.

Concealed Weapon Permits: Just the Facts

  • In the state of Washington, the county sheriff in the area you live will issue your permit. If you live in the city of Seattle, you must head to the municipal police department to obtain your permit.
  • You must be over 21 to obtain a concealed weapon permit.
  • You must be a U.S. citizen or a permanent resident with a green card.
  • You must have no pending trial or appeal that would prohibit you from having a license.
  • You must have no outstanding warrants.
  • You must have no court order preventing you from having a firearm.
  • No mental health conditions prohibiting you from having a firearm license.
  • No felony convictions in Washington or anywhere in the U.S.
  • No convictions against a family member for Assault IV, coercion, stalking, reckless endangerment, violating protective orders, or criminal trespass.

In order to obtain the concealed weapon permit, you must have a picture ID such as a Washington State driver’s license. You must also pay a fee for the permit.

Responsibilities for Carrying a Concealed Weapon

If you obtain a concealed weapon permit in Washington, you must present your permit if requested by law enforcement. You must also follow specific rules for where you can carry and where you cannot carry your weapon.

  • All firearms in vehicles must be locked and out of view
  • Cannot carry concealed weapon in a jail or courthouse
  • Cannot carry concealed weapon in a school or mental health institution
  • Cannot carry concealed weapon in a bar or tavern, as well as in an airport
  • Cannot carry concealed weapon in the bar or lounge portion of a restaurant

In addition, you must understand that local areas can have specific prohibitions about where you are allowed to carry your weapon in public.

Arrested for Carrying a Weapon

If you do not follow Washington’s concealed carry laws, you may find yourself facing serious penalties for carrying a weapon in public. If you do not have a permit to carry a concealed weapon, you may be charged with Carrying a Concealed Firearm. You could face up to 90 days in jail and fines up to $1,000.

If you unlawfully carried this firearm, you could find yourself facing a Class B felony offense, punishable by up to 10 years in prison.

Another possible firearm charge includes carrying a dangerous weapon, which is punishable by up to a year in jail and fines up to $5,000.

Facing Weapon Charges? We Can Help!

If you were arrested and are now facing weapon charges of any kind, you need someone in your corner from the start. Weapon charges can be serious and result in a lifetime of consequences. To protect your rights and your freedom, you need an experienced Seattle criminal defense attorney on your side from Lewis & Laws, PLLC.

The experienced criminal defense lawyers at Lewis & Laws, PLLC, have successfully defended clients in Seattle, Bellevue, and Kirkland. Contact us today at 206.209.0608 or fill out our confidential contact form. We know how to fight serious weapon charges aggressively. Call us today!



GET ANSWERS
Get answers

Should I plead guilty?

Once you plead guilty to a charge, you cannot change your plea afterwards, so it always advised that you talk with a criminal defense attorney at our firm before you do this. Pleading guilty means that you are admitting your conduct is punishable by the law and you know...

Why do I need a lawyer?

A criminal charge means that you could face sanctions including jail times, fines, probation, potential loss of your driver's license and other penalties. A skilled criminal defense attorney can guide you through the court process and advocate your position in order...

July 31, 2020

5 Reasons You Need a Seattle DUI Lawyer

As you face the penalties of a DUI, you may wonder if there is anything you can do to mitigate these consequences. Fortunately, a DUI attorney can help you during this difficult time. Here...

July 16, 2020

The Facts About Concealed Carry in Washington

The Constitution gives every citizen the right to bear arms. However, in order to carry a concealed firearm in the state of Washington, you must obtain proper education and training. Before...